MusicPro (UK) Group News - 5th January 2012

Metallica Releasing 'Beyond Magnetic' EP On CD!


After pressure from fans, Metallica have decided to release their 4 song 'Beyond Magnetic' EP in conventional CD form through normal retail outlets on January 31st 2012.

The EP was originally released in MP3 format only on December 13th 2011 and featured songs recorded during sessions for their 2008 album, 'Death Magnetic'.

Metallica have released a press statement which says, "During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs?."

"We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them for our 30th anniversary celebration last month, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you."

Metallica celebrated it's 30th Anniversary on 30th December 2011 and performed 4 shows in San Francisco at the Fillmore Theatre for fan club members. Highlights of the shows included former members Dave Mustaine and Jason Newsted jamming onstage with Metallica.

‘Beyond Magnetic’ Track List:

1. ‘Hate Train’
2. ‘Just A Bullet Away’
3. ‘Hell and Back’
4. ‘Rebel of Babylon’

News Navigation Previous NewsNext

MusicPro RSS Feed

Click HERE to go to the MusicPro 'Live' News!